The D’Oliveira Trophy

The Basil D’Oliveira Trophy

Part of what is now the Basil D'Oliveira legacy was the creation in 2004 of the ‘The Basil D’Oliveira Trophy’. A perpetual trophy was struck for the Test series between England and South Africa and named ‘The Basil D’Oliveira Trophy’. This honour was bestowed on my father by the country of his birth to be played for whenever England tour South Africa.

Michael Vaughan - England Captain

The inaugural Basil D'Oliveira Trophy was presented at Centurion in January of that year to the winners of the series, and will be contested in all subsequent England tours to South Africa. Gerald Majola, the chief executive of the United Cricket Board of South Africa (UCBSA) said at the time, "The naming of this trophy after Basil D'Oliveira is to bring acknowledgement of his considerable contribution to cricket, at a time when he was not given the proper recognition in the country of his birth".

Graeme Smith - SA Captain with Michael Vaughan

Majola added that it was the UCBSA's intention to empower and recognise those people who were excluded from official cricket during that era. "He will now be remembered every time South Africa and England meet in Test matches in South Africa, as will all those many cricketers who were made nameless through racial discrimination."

Damian D'Oliveira